Aug 19, 2012; Milwaukee, WI, USA; Milwaukee Brewers catcher Jonathan Lucroy (20) tags out Philadelphia Phillies right fielder Laynce Nix (19) trying to score in the eighth inning at Miller Park. Mandatory Credit: Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports

Brewer Daily News for May 31st: Brewers get swept, head to Philadelphia

Good morning everyone and welcome to the Friday edition of Brewer Daily News. Last night, the Milwaukee Brewers (19-33) got swept in four games by the Minnesota Twins (23-28) when they lost 8-6. In the second bit of news, the Brewers will head to Philadelphia for a weekend series against the Fightin’ Phils (26-28).

Ryan Braun’s expression pretty much sums up the month of May for the Brewers. Mandatory Credit: Jesse Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

In last night’s 8-6 loss to the Twins, the Brewers dropped their sixth game straight. Kyle Lohse started for Milwaukee and got torched while picking up his sixth loss of the season. Lohse only lasted 4 2/3 innings while giving up six runs, eight hits, one walk and did not strike out a batter. Rookie Donovan Hand came in to pitch relief after Lohse and gave up two runs in 2 1/3 innings while striking out three. John Axford pitched in the 8th inning and narrowly avoided danger as he allowed one hit and walked two.

P.J. Walters was the starter for Minnesota and did well, picking up his second win of the season. Walters pitched six innings, giving up four runs, 10 hits, one walk and struck out four. Jared Burton came on in the 9th as the closer and picked up his second save of 2013 by pitching a perfect inning.

Offensively, every Brewer in the line-up had a hit, but they only mustered six runs. Logan Schafer had a big day at the plate, going 3-for-4 with a three-run triple in the 6th that put the team on the board. In the 7th, Ryan Braun hit a sacrifice fly scoring Jeff Bianchi. In the 8th, the Brewers scored their last two runs when Bianchi hit a ground out to short stop scoring Schafer and Carlos Gomez also hit a grounder to short that scored Rickie Weeks.

Tonight, the Brewers head to the City of Brotherly Love to take on the Phillies for the weekend. The Phillies are coming off a split four-game series with the Boston Red Sox. For tonight’s game, starting at 7:05 p.m. ET / 6:05 p.m. CT, the starters will be Yovani Gallardo (3-5, 4.79 ERA) for Milwaukee and Cole Hamels (1-8, 4.43 ERA) for Philadelphia.

Saturday’s starters will be Mike Fiers (1-3, 5.66 ERA) and Tyler Cloyd (1-1, 5.74 ERA) while Sunday’s match-up will feature Wily Peralta (3-6, 6.35 ERA) and Cliff Lee (6-2, 2.34 ERA). Saturday’s game starts at 4:05 p.m. ET / 3:05 p.m. CT and Sunday’s game begins at 1:35 p.m. ET / 12:35 p.m. CT.

Next Brewers Game View full schedule »
Wednesday, Sep 1717 Sep7:15at St. Louis CardinalsBuy Tickets

Tags: Milwaukee Brewers

comments powered by Disqus